skip to primary navigationskip to content
 

Alumni

Students who have completed a Sociology PhD at Cambridge have gone on to take up positions across the world. Details of some of our PhD alumni and where they are now, can be seen below:

 

Graduating Year 2013/2014

NameCurrent Position

Nicholas Boston

Contact: nicholas.boston@gmail.com

Associate Professor (with tenure), Dept. of Journalism, Communication & Theatre, The City University of New York, Lehman College


Graduating Year 2012/2013

NameCurrent Position

Casey Brienza

Contact: 

Lecturer in Publishing and Digital Media, City University London

Christopher Bunn

Contact: 

Research Associate, University of Glasgow

Dieter Demey

Contact: 

Flemish Community Commission, Brussels and Visiting Research Fellow, University of Southampton

Achim Edelmann

Contact: 

Postdoctoral Associate, Duke University, USA

Zeynep Gürtin

Contact: 

Research Associate, Department of Sociology, University of Cambridge

Jonathan Kennedy

Contact: 

Research Associate, Department of Sociology, University of Cambridge

Lois Lee

Contact: 

Research Associate, School of Public Policy, University College London

Benjamin Loh

Contact: 

Fellow, Institute of Southeast Asian Studies, Singapore

Julia Gumy

Contact: 

Lecturer, School for Policy Studies, University of Bristol

 

Graduating Year 2011/2012

NameCurrent Position

Mohita Bhatia

Contact: 

Assistant Professor, Jawaharlala Nehru University, New Delhi, India

Robbie Duschinsky

Contact: rd522@medschl.cam.ac.uk

PI for Wellcome Trust New Investigator Award, Department of Public Health and Primary Care, University of Cambridge

Tobias Eule

Contact: 

Assistant Professor for the Sociology of Law, University of Bern, Switzerland

Lazaros Goutas

Contact: 

Lecturer, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich

Liang Guo

Contact: lgg@rouenbs.fr

Assistant Professor, Rouen Business School, France

Maruta Herding

Contact: herding@dji.de

Senior Researcher, Deutsches Jugendinstitut, Halle, Germany

Jonathan Corpus Ong

Contact: 

Lecturer in Media and Communications, University of Leicester

Piotr Ozieranski

Contact: 

Lecturer, Department of Social and Policy Sciences, University of Bath

Sandy To Sin Chi

Contact: 

Lecturer, Department of Sociology, The University of Hong Kong

Tomás Undurraga

Contact: t.undurraga@ucl.ac.uk

Research Associate, Department of Science and Technology Studies, University College London

 

Graduating Year 2010/2011

NameCurrent Position

Ayca Alemdaroglu

Contact: ayca@stanford.edu

Post-Doctoral Scholar, Department of Anthropology, Stanford University

Frens Kroeger

Contact: 

Research Fellow (permanent), Centre for Trust, Peace and Social Relations, Coventry University

 

Graduating Year 2009/2010

NameCurrent Position

Thorsten Jelinek

Contact: thorsten.jelinek@weforum.org

Associate Director, World Economic Forum

Hettie Malcomson

Contact: H.Malcomson@soton.ac.uk

Lecturer in Ethnomusicology, University of Southampton

Evgenia Mesaritou

Contact: mesaritou.evgenia@ucy.ac.cy

Special Scientist, Department of Social and Political Sciences, University of Cyprus

Eleanor Peers

Contact: peers@eth.mpg.de

Research Fellow, Max Planck Institute for Social Anthropology, Halle, Germany

Morgan Richards

Contact: morgan@thedesignembassy.co

Creative Director, The Design Embassy, Sydney

Leandro Rodriguez Medina

Contact: leandro.rodriguez@udlap.mx

Associate Professor, Department of International Relations and Political Science, University of the Americas Puebla, Mexico

Susan Walker

Contact: susan.walker@anglia.ac.uk

Senior Lecturer in Sexual Health, Faculty of Health, Social Care and Education, Anglia Ruskin University

Andrew Webb

Contact: andrew.webb@uc.cl

Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology, Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile

Ella McPherson

Contact: em310@cam.ac.uk

ESRC Future Research Leader, Department of Sociology, University of Cambridge

 

 

Graduating Year 2008/2009

NameCurrent Position

Reza Hasmath

Contact: rhasmath@gmail.com

Lecturer in Chinese Politics, School of Interdisciplinary Area Studies, University of Oxford

Daiga Kamerade

Contact: d.kamerade@bham.ac.uk

Research Fellow, Third Sector Research Centre, University of Birmingham

Girts Racko

Contact: Girts.Racko@wbs.ac.uk

Assistant Professor, Warwick Business School, University of Warwick

Megan Rivers-Moore

Contact: 

Assistant Professor, Pauline Jewett Institute of Women's and Gender Studies, Carleton University

David Stuckler

Contact: david.stuckler@sociology.ox.ac.uk

Professor of Political Economy and Sociology, Department of Sociology, University of Oxford

Sridhar Venkatapuram

Contact: sridhar.venkatapuram@kcl.ac.uk

 

Lecturer in Global Health and Philosophy, and Director of the MSc in Global Health and Social Justice, King's College London

Graduating Year 2007/2008

NameCurrent Position

Caragh Brosnan

Contact: Caragh.Brosnan@newcastle.edu.au

Senior Lecturer in Sociology, University of Newcastle, Australia

Fernando Dominguez Rubio

Contact: dorubio@ucsd.edu

Assistant Professor, Department of Communication, University of California, San Diego

Dhiraj Murthy

Contact: d.murthy@gold.ac.uk

Reader in Sociology, Goldsmiths, University of London

 

Graduating Year 2006/2007

NameCurrent Position

Helena Mateus Jerónimo

Contact: jeronimo@iseg.ulisboa.pt

Assistant Professor, ISEG - Lisbon School of Economics & Management, University of Lisbon, Portugal

Simon Susen

Contact: Simon.Susen@city.ac.uk

 

Senior Lecturer in Sociology, City University London

 

Graduating Year 2005/2006

NameCurrent Position
Adam Coutts

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine 

 

Graduating Year 2004/2005 

NameCurrent Position
Nigel Kettley

Academic Director and University Senior Lecturer, Institute of Continuing Education, University of Cambridge

Keep up to date with your classmates, and discover where our graduates are now.

Read more